GRGS > The GRGS > About the GRGS

Bureau des longitudes Centre national d’études spatiales Institut national de l'information géographique et forestière - Laboratoire LAREG Observatoire de Paris Institut national des sciences de l'Univers Observatoire de la Côte d'Azur Service Hydrographique et Océanographique de la Marine Observatoire Midi-Pyrénées Université de la Polynésie Française Ecole Supérieure des Géomètres et Topographes - Conservatoire national des arts et métiers Ecole et Observatoire des Sciences de la Terre

The Space Geodesy Research Group (GRGS) was officially created on February 17, 1971 at 4:00 pm at the Bureau des Longitudes, at a meeting attended by:

  • the President of the Bureau des Longitudes (BdL ; A. Gougenheim),
  • the President of the Centre National d’Etudes Spatiales (CNES ; J-F. Denisse),
  • the Director of the Institut Géographique National (IGN ; G. Laclavère),
  • the Director of the Observatoire de Paris (OP ; J. Delhaye).

These four original directors also created the GRGS Steering Committee that day, and they laid out its ground rules in a simple, co-signed letter describing the constituent elements of the GRGS and its rules of operation:

  • a Steering Committee
  • a Scientific Council (whose members were designated that day)
  • an Executive Director appointed for a three-year, renewable term (the first was J. Kovalevsky)
  • research staff belonging to member organizations or to other agencies
  • technical and administrative staff made available by member organizations or recruited on a contractual basis (J. Villecrose from the IGN was appointed Administrative Secretary. There is a separate budget for each team, as well as a common budget administered together).

This was the culmination of successive actions that had occurred since the launching of the first artificial Earth satellite on October 4, 1957 and the state of events that had happened many years previously. To understand the French context in February 1971 and the decisions taken, it is necessary to recall the events that have shaped, prepared, and marked the period before the creation of the GRGS.

1 - The French geodetic community, and in particular IGN, put considerable energy into international cooperation and had done so since its inception, specifically with the International Union of Geodesy and Geophysics, or IUGG (the IUGG was established in November 1918 and its statutes were adopted in 1919) and the International Association of Geodesy (IAG). P.Tardi was Secretary General of the AIG from 1945 to 1960, J-J. Levallois held this position from 1960 to 1975 followed by M. Louis, with assistant secretaries for the same periods (J-J Levallois, M. Louis, C. Boucher).

2 - At the international level, France was thus responsible for the International Time Bureau (BIH) housed at the Observatoire de Paris (Director: B. Guinot) and for the International Gravimetric Bureau (BGI) (P. Tardi was its director from 1958 to 1974).

3 - From 1952, the French community (IGN and IPGP) was heavily involved in preparing for the International Geophysical Year 1957-1958, with the creation of the French National Committee of the AIG, under the Chairpersonship of the R-P.Lejay, then President of the French National Committee of Geodesy and Geophysics (CNFGG) with J. Coulomb as Secretary General. J. Coulomb, G. Laclavère, P. Tardi became part of the special committee of the International Geophysical Year established by the International Commission of Scientific Unions in which 77 countries participated. On October 4, 1957, the first artificial satellite was launched by the USSR, which had been planned within the framework of this commission, but which few countries actually believed would happen. This event created a shock wave as we know in all these disciplines and in the political world.

The International Council of Scientific Unions thus created a special committee on space research, COSPAR (Committee of Space Research).The first meeting was held in Nice in 1960 with P. Muller, astronomer at the Observatoire de Paris-Meudon, who had performed the first astrometric observations of artificial satellites, as the French representative. CNES, the French Space Agency, was created on December 19, 1961.

4 - Thanks to A. Danjon, Director of the Observatoire de Paris, celestial mechanics in France had a new start with the Bureau des Longitudes with J. Kovalevsky as Director, (PhD in the U.S. in 1958 with D. Brouwer, author of the first analytical theory of artificial satellite motion in 1959), and Assistant B. Morando (who had done research on the resonances of artificial satellites). The Thursday seminars at the Bureau des Longitudes played an important role as a crucible for creating a space geodetic community bringing together people from various institutes, universities, and CNES. Courses on spatial and celestial mechanics were created along with a diploma (Observatoire de Paris and University of Paris VI) from the beginning of the first space age.

5 - The first international experiments in geodesy were undertaken to establish a global geodetic network using the ECHO 1 and 2 satellites (1961-1963). In France, we had the Muller cameras and the ballistic chambers at IGN. The results were presented at the Geodetic Symposium in Paris in 1964 (liaison between France-North Africa) led by J-J. Levallois (IGN). In addition, the first results were obtained with Doppler receivers and the American system, TRANSIT, and the first results were also obtained with the flashes emitted by the satellite (American satellite ANNA then satellites from the GEOS series. Photographs were also taken at Meudon with the Schmitt telescope).

6 - French geodetic experiments began with the launch of the first geodetic satellite Diapason (February 1966) and Diademe (February 1967) from Hammaguir (Algeria). The French had their first success in laser telemetry with the first echoes obtained at St. Michel (FRANCE) in January 1965 from the American satellite BEB (experiment conducted by the Aeronomy Department of the CNRS under the direction of J-E. Blamont, by Mr. and Mrs. Bivas, and then J. Gaignebet). The first echoes were obtained in the U.S. in October 1964. Success was also obtained later by ONERA with photography of laser echoes and the development of a cooperation between ONERA and the geodetic community in several areas.

7 - Cooperative research was carried out in the program RCP 133, created by CNRS management on February 20, 1967 for geodetic mesurement by artificial satellites from Europe to Africa and South America. The French satellites DIADEMES and the American satellites PAGEOS, and GEOS A and B were used. (Director J-J. Levallois, assistant F. Barlier). Franco-American exchanges and cooperation continued to increase, with several missions and visits to U.S. centres and many exchanges (M. Lefebvre, G. Balmino, G. Brachet). Participation in the founding conference of Space Geophysics in Williamstown, Massachusetts (US) in July 1969 (J-C. Husson, F. Barlier, A. Orsag, O. Calame). Arrival at the Observatoire Paris-Meudon of researchers (K. Lambeck and M. Gaposchkin) who had contributed to the first models of the Earth’s gravitational field, Standard Earth I and II, which had been developed at the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory in Cambridge.

8 - European cooperation: the Journées Luxembourgeoises de Géodynamique were a crucible for developing European cooperation in space geodesy: cooperation with ORB, P. Melchior, P. Package and Luxembourg; J. Flick, cooperation with the DGFI of Munich (M. Schneider, C. Reigber); cooperation with the countries of Eastern Europe and the USSR (cooperation Interobs and Intercosmos).

9 - The implementation of the international and global programme ISAGEX under French management with G. Brachet as the Executive Director (1970). France had privileged relationships of cooperation with the U.S.A. as well as the USSR. The following countries were members: East and West Germany, Australia, USA, Finland, France, Greece, Japan, Netherlands, Poland, the United Kingdom, sweden, Switzerland, the USSR. Laser data was used as well as satellited image data obtained by photographing the satellite on a background of stars, or flashes of light emitted by teh satellite (satellite GEOS). The French satellite PEOLE, in orbit at a longitude slightly higher than the euqator, was launched from Kourou (French Guiana) in December, 1970, and has been very useful for space geodesy.

10 - Following the various events mentioned above, and the recommendations of the Williamstown Conference (July 1969), and given the long-term proposals in geodynamics (F. Barlier and F. Lefebvre, late 1969), a department of "Space Geodesy" was created within the Mathematics and Processing Division of the Space Centre in Bretigny, France on March 27, 1970 (J-F. Denisse). On 1 April, 1971, the staff who would make up the Department of Space Geodesy of the GRGS, newly created on February 17, 1971, were assigned for a period of one year. (General Aubinière). This assignment would be renewed each year.

11 - There were many international research projects to be done and several international partnerships to be developed.

In conclusion, as J-J. Levallois wrote in a note to mark the 20th anniversary of the GRGS, the creation of this organization has led to greater efficiency in project implementation, more economical management of funds, the designation of a single organization qualified to make international commitments, to organize the choice of research subjects, and admission to the status of 'laboratory' by CNES, and a link with the CNRS.

affiche

GRGS > Le GRGS > Historique

Bureau des longitudes Centre national d’études spatiales Institut national de l'information géographique et forestière - Laboratoire LAREG Observatoire de Paris Institut national des sciences de l'Univers Observatoire de la Côte d'Azur Service Hydrographique et Océanographique de la Marine Observatoire Midi-Pyrénées Université de la Polynésie Française Ecole Supérieure des Géomètres et Topographes - Conservatoire national des arts et métiers Ecole et Observatoire des Sciences de la Terre

Le GRGS (Groupe de Recherches de Géodésie Spatiale) fut officiellement créé le 17 février 1971 à 16h au Bureau des Longitudes, lors d’une réunion regroupant :

  • le Président du Bureau des Longitudes (BdL ; A. Gougenheim),
  • le Président du Centre National d’Etudes Spatiales (CNES ; J-F. Denisse),
  • le Directeur de l’Institut Géographique National (IGN ; G. Laclavère),
  • le Directeur de l’Observatoire de Paris (OP ; J. Delhaye).

Ces quatre directeurs signataires se constituèrent ce même jour en Comité Directeur du GRGS et adoptèrent le principe de base : une simple lettre co-signée donnant les éléments constitutifs du GRGS et les règles de fonctionnement soit :

  • un Comité Directeur,
  • un Conseil Scientifique (liste désignée ce jour),
  • un Directeur Exécutif désigné pour trois ans renouvelables (J. Kovalevsky au départ),
  • du personnel de recherche appartenant aux organismes adhérents et à d’autres organismes,
  • du personnel technique et administratif mis à sa disposition par les organismes adhérents ou recruté sur contrat (J. Villecrose de l’IGN fut nommé Secrétaire Administratif. Il y a un budget autonome par équipes mais un budget commun géré ensemble).

Ceci était l’aboutissement d’actions successives depuis le lancement du premier satellite artificiel le 4 octobre 1957 et d’états de faits datant de nombreuses années antérieures. Pour comprendre la situation française de février 1971 et les décisions prises, il est nécessaire de rappeler les événements qui ont façonné, préparé, et jalonné la période qui a précédé la création du GRGS.

1 - La communauté géodésique française en particulier à l’IGN s’était beaucoup investie dans la coopération internationale et cela depuis ses origines notamment dans le cadre de l’Union de Géodésie et Géophysique Internationale (l’UGGI fut créée en novembre 1918 et ses statuts adoptés en 1919) et de l’Association Internationale de Géodésie (l’AIG). P. Tardi fut Secrétaire Général de l’AIG de 1945 à 1960, J-J. Levallois de 1960 à 1975 puis M. Louis, avec des secrétaires adjoints pour les mêmes périodes (J-J. Levallois, M. Louis, C. Boucher).

2 - Sur le plan international, la France avait alors la responsabilité du Bureau International de l’Heure (BIH) hébergé à l’Observatoire de Paris (Directeur : B. Guinot), et du Bureau Gravimétrique International (BGI) (P. Tardi en fut le directeur de 1958 à 1974).

3 - À partir de 1952, la communauté française (IGN et IPGP) s’investit beaucoup dans la préparation de l’année géophysique internationale 1957-1958, avec la création du Comité National Français de l’AIG, sous la présidence du R-P. Lejay, alors Président du Comité National Français de Géodésie et Géophysique (CNFGG) avec J. Coulomb comme Secrétaire Général. J. Coulomb, G. Laclavère, P. Tardi firent partie du comité spécial de l’Année Géophysique Internationale créée par la Commission Internationale des Unions Scientifiques à laquelle participèrent 77 pays. Le 4 octobre 1957, eut lieu le lancement du premier satellite artificiel par l’URSS prévu dans ce cadre mais auquel peu de pays croyaient vraiment et qui créa une onde choc que l’on connaît dans toutes ces disciplines et sur le plan politique.

Le Conseil International des Unions Scientifiques créa alors un comité spécial de recherches spatiales le COSPAR (Committee of Space Research). La première réunion eut lieu à Nice en 1960 avec P. Muller, astronome de l’Observatoire de Paris-Meudon qui avait réalisé les premières observations astrométriques des satellites artificiels comme représentant français. Création du CNES le 19 décembre 1961.

4 - Grâce à A. Danjon, Directeur de l’Observatoire de Paris, nouveau départ de la mécanique céleste en France au Bureau des longitudes avec J. Kovalevsky comme Directeur, (thèse aux USA en 1958 avec D. Brouwer, auteur de la première théorie analytique du mouvement du satellite artificiel en 1959), adjoint B. Morando (travaux sur les résonances des satellites artificiels) ; rôle des séminaires du jeudi du Bureau des Longitudes comme creuset pour constituer une communauté géodésique spatiale incluant des personnes provenant de divers instituts, Universités et du CNES. Création d’un diplôme et de cours de mécanique spatiale et céleste (Observatoire de Paris et Université de Paris VI) dés le début de l’ère spatiale.

5 - Premières expériences internationales de géodésie pour l’établissement d’un réseau mondial géodésique en utilisant les satellites ECHO 1 et 2 (1961-1963). En France on disposait des caméras Muller et des chambres balistiques de l’IGN. Les résultats sont présentés au symposium géodésique de Paris en 1964 (liaison France-Afrique du Nord) animé par J-J Levallois (IGN). Également premiers résultats obtenus avec les récepteurs doppler et le système américain Transit, premiers résultats obtenus avec les flashs émis par le satellite (satellite américain ANNA puis satellites de la série GEOS, photographiés aussi à Meudon avec le télescope de Schmitt).

6 - Expérience géodésique française avec le lancement des premiers satellites géodésiques Diapason (février 1966) et Diadèmes (février 1967) depuis Hammaguir. Succès français en télémétrie laser avec les premiers échos obtenus à St Michel en janvier 1965 sur le satellite américain BEB (expérience menée par le Service d’aéronomie du CNRS sous la direction de J-E. Blamont, par Mr et Mme Bivas puis J.Gaignebet). Les premiers échos ont été obtenus aux USA en octobre 1964. Succès aussi obtenu plus tard par l’ONERA avec la photographie des échos laser et développement d’une coopération ONERA - communauté géodésique dans plusieurs domaines.

7 - Recherche coopérative sur programme RCP 133, crée par la direction du CNRS le 20 février 1967 pour une jonction géodésique par satellites artificiels de l’Europe à l’Afrique et l’Amérique du sud. On utiliserait les satellites français DIADEMES, les satellites américains, PAGEOS, GEOS A, B (Directeur J-J. Levallois, adjoint F. Barlier). Echanges franco-américains avec une coopération en plein développement avec plusieurs missions et visites des centres américains avec de nombreux échanges (M. Lefebvre, G. Balmino, G. Brachet). Participation au colloque fondateur de la géophysique spatiale à Williamstown (Mass) en juillet 1969 (J-C Husson, F. Barlier, A. Orsag, O. Calame). Arrivée à l’Observatoire Paris-Meudon de chercheurs ayant contribué aux premiers modèles du champ de gravité de la Terre la Standard Earth I et II, K. Lambeck et M. Gaposchkin développés au Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory à Cambridge.

8 - La coopération européenne. Les Journées Luxembourgeoises de Géodynamique furent un creuset pour développer une coopération européenne en géodésie spatiale : coopération avec l’ORB, P. Melchior, P. Paquet et le Luxembourg, J. Flick, coopération avec le DGFI de Munich (M. Schneider, C. Reigber), coopération avec les pays de l’Europe de l’Est et l’URSS (coopération Interobs et Intercosmos).

9 - La réalisation du programme international et mondial ISAGEX sous responsabilité française avec G. Brachet comme Directeur Exécutif (1970). La France avait des relations de coopération privilégiée tant avec les USA qu’avec l’URSS. Les pays suivants y adhèrent ; RDA, RFA, Australie, USA, Finlande, France, Grèce, Japon, Pays-Bas, Pologne, Royaume-Uni, Suède, Suisse, Tchécoslovaquie, URSS. On utilisait tant les données laser que les données photographiques obtenues par photographie du satellite sur fond d’étoiles ou par des flashs lumineux émis par le satellite (satellite GEOS). À noter le lancement du satellite français PEOLE faiblement incliné sur l’équateur, depuis Kourou en décembre 1970 très utile pour la géodésie spatiale.

10 - Suite aux différents événements cités plus haut, aux recommandations du colloque de Williamstown (juillet 1969) et au vu des propositions à long terme en géodynamique (F. Barlier et M. Lefebvre fin 1969), création, à l’intérieur de la Division Mathématiques et Traitement du Centre Spatial de Brétigny, d’un département « Géodésie spatiale » le 27 mars 1970 (J-F. Denisse). Mise à disposition le 1er avril 1971 pour une durée d’un an du personnel composant le Département de Géodésie Spatiale du GRGS crée le 17 février 1971 (Général Aubinière). Cet effort sera reconduit d’année en année.

11 - Des travaux internationaux à faire et des coopérations internationales de plus en plus nombreuses à développer.

En conclusion, comme l’a écrit J-J. Levallois dans une note à l’occasion des 20 ans du GRGS, en créant cet organisme on pouvait espérer une efficacité plus grande dans la réalisation des projets, une gestion plus économique des crédits d’ensemble, la désignation d’un interlocuteur unique, qualifié pour prendre des engagements internationaux, un choix rationnel des thèmes de recherche, l’admission au rang de laboratoire par le CNES, un lien avec le CNRS.

affiche