GRGS > Research > Subjects > Earth's Gravitational Field

Bureau des longitudes Centre national d’études spatiales Institut national de l'information géographique et forestière - Laboratoire LAREG Observatoire de Paris Institut national des sciences de l'Univers Observatoire de la Côte d'Azur Service Hydrographique et Océanographique de la Marine Observatoire Midi-Pyrénées Université de la Polynésie Française Ecole Supérieure des Géomètres et Topographes - Conservatoire national des arts et métiers Ecole et Observatoire des Sciences de la Terre

GRGS has long been involved in the modeling of the Earth’s gravitational field. The first global models of the Earth’s gravitational field, called GRIM and represented by the coefficients (Clm, Slm) of/with/ spherical harmonics functions, date from the 1970s. These models (from GRIM-1 to GRIM-5) were made in a joint cooperation project between GRGS and a German institute (first named TUM, then DGFI and finally GFZ). Since 2000 and the launch of the satellite mission CHAMP (DLR / GFZ), the models produced have been given the name EIGEN.

These models are available on the website of "The International Centre for Global Earth Models (ICGEM): http://icgem.gfz-potsdam.de/ICGEM/ICGEM.html

Champ de gravité de la Terre

After the launch of the twin satellites GRACE (NASA / DLR) in 2002, the team of Space Geodesy CNES / GRGS became involved in the estimation of decadal temporal variations (other than tides) in the gravity field through the analysis of derived, inter-satellite KBR measurements. Previously, the observation of variations in the Earth’s gravitational field was limited to the dynamic flattening of the Earth (coefficient C20) through the analysis of orbital perturbations of the LAGEOS satellites based on laser tracking data.

The variable GRACE models are described and delivered in the form of spherical harmonic coefficients, as maps of geoid height, or converted into equivalent water heights, on this site as well as that of BGI ( http://bgi.cnes.fr:8110/geoid-variations/README.html).

Variation de l'aplatissement dynamique de la Terre (coefficient C20)

Variation de l'aplatissement dynamique de la Terre (coefficient C20)

Cartes saisonnières (boréales) de transfert de masses représenté sous forme de hauteur d'eau équivalente (m)

Cartes saisonnières (boréales) de transfert de masses représenté sous forme de hauteur d'eau équivalente (m)

Regional variations in surface water bodies by inversion of GRACE inter-satellite measurements

In order to study the redistribution of water bodies on the Earth’s surface, a new approach has been proposed in order to estimate time series of regional maps of mass area density by the inversion of anomalies of potential difference along the short-arc orbits of GRACE satellites. These anomalies are deduced from precise K-Band Range (KBR) measurements of velocity differences between the two GRACE vehicles, following the energy integral method. After correcting for known gravitational variations (i.e., solid Earth, variable fields created by planets, atmosphere, oceans, tides, and also the movements of the pole), during orbit adjustments performed by the software GINS (developed by GRGS), the residuals of potential, non-modelled physical phenomena corresponded mainly to hydrological changes on the continents. Instead of applying a method of matrix regularization, spatial constraints (i.e., linear correlations based on the angular distance between the surface elements) are introduced to stabilize the system of normal equations to be solved in order to estimate the distributions of equivalent water heights, and to effectively mitigate the noise in the KBR measurements. The first series of regional solutions 2 ° x2 ° at 10 days at the continental scale are in the process of being calculated and validated at GRGS Toulouse.

variations régionales des masses d'eau superficielles

Contacts

G. Ramillien, CNRS, GRGS, OMP, Toulouse (ramillien@dtp.obs-mip.fr), R. Biancale, CNES, GRGS, OMP, Toulouse (richard.biancale@cnes.fr), L. Seoane, Post-doc. RTRA, GRGS, OMP, Toulouse (seoane@dtp.obs-mip.fr)

Bibliography

G. Ramillien, R. Biancale, S. Gratton, X. Vasseur and S. Bourgogne, GRACE-derived surface mass anomalies by energy integral approach. Application to continental hydrology, J. of Geodesy, forthcoming, October 2010.

GRACE ICA-filtered solutions Release 4

An approach based on Independent Component Analysis (ICA) has been applied on a combination of monthly GRACE satellite solutions computed from official providers (CSR, JPL and GFZ), to separate useful geophysical signals from important striping undulations. We pre-filtered the raw GRACE Level-2 solutions using Gaussian filters of 400 and 500-km of radius to verify the non-gaussianity condition which is necessary to apply the ICA. This linear inverse approach ensures to separate components of the observed gravity field which are statistically independent. As the most energetic component found by ICA corresponds mainly to the contribution of continental water mass change. Series of ICA-estimated global maps of continental water storage have been produced over 08/2002-12/2010.

solution grace

Format

The ICA grids are 1° x 1° global grids of equivalent water heights differences (in mm) between time-variable solutions and static field (at reference date if the static field includes time-variable terms). They have the following format:

lon (°) lat (°) EWH CSR (mm) EWH GFZ (mm) EWH JPL (mm)

References

Frappart F., Ramillien G., Maisongrande P., Bonnet M-P. (2010). Denoising satellite gravity signals by Independent Component Analysis, IEEE Geoscience and Remote Sensing Letters, 7(3), 421-425, doi:10.1109/LGRS.2009.2037837.
Frappart F., Ramillien G., Leblanc M., Tweed S.O., Bonnet M-P., Maisongrande P. (2011). An independent Component Analysis approach for filtering continental hydrology in the GRACE gravity data, Remote Sensing of Environment, 115(1), 187-204, doi: 10.1016/j.rse.2010.08.017.

The GOCE (Gravity field and Ocean Circulation Explorer) satellite from ESA, launched March 17, 2009, aims to map the Earth’s gravitational field from an altitude of 250 km using six accelerometers on board. Within the consortium EGGc (European GOCE Gravity Consortium), the CNES Space Geodesy team participates in the analysis of gradiometric measurements. The expected accuracy is 1 mGal at 100 km resolution (level 200), or 1 cm on the geoid.

High-resolution regional models of the gravity field

The team LAREG / GRGS develops high-resolution regional models of the gravity field by combining different types of gravimetric measurements and therefore increasing the density of information obtained for a given location using spatial gravimetry. To do this, a multi-scale modeling approach has been developed using wavelets defined in spherical geometry. This type of approach has proven useful for combining data with varied spatial and spectral characteristics. Moreover, taking into account mobile gravimetric measurements is of great interest, because it enables the coverage of areas that are difficult to access.

affiche

GRGS > Recherche > Thèmes > Champ de gravité de la Terre

Bureau des longitudes Centre national d’études spatiales Institut national de l'information géographique et forestière - Laboratoire LAREG Observatoire de Paris Institut national des sciences de l'Univers Observatoire de la Côte d'Azur Service Hydrographique et Océanographique de la Marine Observatoire Midi-Pyrénées Université de la Polynésie Française Ecole Supérieure des Géomètres et Topographes - Conservatoire national des arts et métiers Ecole et Observatoire des Sciences de la Terre

Le GRGS est impliqué de longue date dans la modélisation du champ de gravité de la Terre. Les premiers modèles globaux du champ de gravité de la Terre, dénommés GRIM et représentés par les coefficients (Clm, Slm) de fonctions harmoniques sphériques, datent des années 70.Ces modèles (de GRIM-1 à GRIM-5) ont été réalisés en coopération entre le GRGS et un institut allemand (successivement TUM, DGFI puis GFZ). Depuis l’an 2000 et le lancement de la mission satellitaire CHAMP (DLR/GFZ), les modèles produits ont pris le nom EIGEN.

Ces modèles sont disponibles sur le site de « l’International Centre for Global Earth Models » (ICGEM) : http://icgem.gfz-potsdam.de/ICGEM/ICGEM.html

Champ de gravité de la Terre

Après le lancement des satellites jumeaux GRACE (NASA/DLR) en 2002, l’équipe de Géodésie Spatiale du CNES/GRGS s’est impliquée dans la restitution des variations temporelles (autres que les marées) du champ de gravité à la périodicité décadaire par le traitement des mesures KBR inter-satellites dérivées.Jusque là, l’observation des variations du champ de gravité était restreinte à l’aplatissement dynamique de la Terre (coefficient C20) par l’analyse des perturbations orbitales des satellites LAGEOS à partir des données de suivi laser.

Les modèles variables GRACE sont décrits et délivrés sous forme de coefficients harmoniques sphériques, de cartes de hauteur de géoïde ou encore transformées en hauteur d’eau équivalente, à travers ce site ainsi que celui du BGI ( http://grgs.obs-mip.fr/grace).

Variation de l'aplatissement dynamique de la Terre (coefficient C20)

Variation de l'aplatissement dynamique de la Terre (coefficient C20)

Cartes saisonnières (boréales) de transfert de masses représenté sous forme de hauteur d'eau équivalente (m)

Cartes saisonnières (boréales) de transfert de masses représenté sous forme de hauteur d'eau équivalente (m)

Les variations régionales des masses d'eau superficielles par inversion des mesures inter-satellites GRACE

Dans la perspective de l'étude des redistributions des masses d'eau à la surface de la Terre, une nouvelle approche a été proposée pour estimer des séries temporelles de cartes régionales de densité surfacique de masse par inversion des anomalies de différence de potentiel le long des arcs d'orbite courts des satellites GRACE. Ces anomalies sont déduites des mesures précises K-Band Range (KBR) de différences de vitesse entre les deux véhicules GRACE suivant la méthode de l'intégrale de l'énergie. Après correction des contributions des variations gravitationnelles connues (i.e., Terre solide, champs variables créés par les planètes, l'atmosphère, les océans, les marées, et aussi les mouvements du pôle) lors de l'ajustement d'orbite par le logiciel GINS développé au GRGS, les résidus de potentiel des phénomènes physiques non modélisés correspondent principalement aux variations hydrologiques sur les continents. Au lieu d'appliquer une méthode de régularisation matricielle, des contraintes spatiales (i.e., corrélations linéaires en fonction de la distance angulaire entre les éléments de surface) sont introduites pour stabiliser le système d'équations normales à résoudre pour estimer la distributions des hauteurs équivalentes d'eau, et pour atténuer efficacement le bruit dans les mesures KBR. Les premières séries de solutions régionales 2°x2° à 10 jours aux échelles continentales sont en cours de calcul et de validation au GRGS de Toulouse.

variations régionales des masses d'eau superficielles

Contacts

G. Ramillien, CNRS, GRGS, OMP, Toulouse (ramillien@dtp.obs-mip.fr), R. Biancale, CNES, GRGS, OMP, Toulouse (richard.biancale@cnes.fr), L. Seoane, Post-doc. RTRA, GRGS, OMP, Toulouse (seoane@dtp.obs-mip.fr)
Référence : G. Ramillien, R. Biancale, S. Gratton, X. Vasseur and S. Bourgogne, GRACE-derived surface mass anomalies by energy integral approach. Application to continental hydrology, J. of Geodesy, in press, october 2010.

Solutions GRACE (version 4) filtrées par ACI

Champs de gravité variables temporellement (RL04) du CSR, GFZ et JPL post-traités par ACI (modèles à 30 jours)

Description du produit: Une approche basée sur l'Analyse en Composantes Indépendantes (ACI) a été appliquée sur une combinaison des solutions GRACE mensuelles des centres de traitement officiels (CSR, GFZ et JPL) pour séparer les signaux géophysiques du bruit se manifestant sous forme de bandes méridiennes. Les solutions GRACE de niveau 2 ont au préalable été préfiltrées au moyen d'un filtre gaussien de rayon 400 ou 500 km pour vérifier la condition de non gaussianité nécessaire à l'application de la méthode ACI. Cette approche linéaire inverse permet de séparer les composantes statistiquement indépendantes du champ de gravité observé. La composante représentant les plus fortes énergies correspond aux eaux continentales. Les cartes d'anomalies de stock d'eau continentale sont disponibles d'août 2002 à décembre 2010.

solution grace

Format

Les grilles globales des solutions GRACE filtrées par ACI sont exprimées en équivalent hauteur d'eau (mm) et ont le format suivant:
lon (°) lat (°) Equivalent hauteur d'eau CSR (mm) Equivalent hauteur d'eau GFZ (mm) Equivalent hauteur d'eau JPL (mm)

Références

Frappart F., Ramillien G., Maisongrande P., Bonnet M-P. (2010). Denoising satellite gravity signals by Independent Component Analysis, IEEE Geoscience and Remote Sensing Letters, 7(3), 421-425, doi:10.1109/LGRS.2009.2037837.
Frappart F., Ramillien G., Leblanc M., Tweed S.O., Bonnet M-P., Maisongrande P. (2011). An independent Component Analysis approach for filtering continental hydrology in the GRACE gravity data, Remote Sensing of Environment, 115(1), 187-204, doi: 10.1016/j.rse.2010.08.017.

Le satellite GOCE (Gravity field and Ocean Circulation Explorer) de l’ESA, lancé le 17 mars 2009, a pour mission de cartographier à l’aide de six accéléromètres embarqués le champ de gravité de la Terre depuis une altitude proche de 250 km. L’équipe CNES de Géodésie Spatiale participe au sein du consortium EGGc (European GOCE Gravity consortium) au traitement des mesures gradiométriques. La précision attendue est de 1 mGal à la résolution de 100 km (degré 200), soit 1 cm sur le géoïde.

Modèles régionaux haute résolution du champ de pesanteur

L’équipe du LAREG/GRGS développe des modèles régionaux haute résolution du champ de pesanteur, combinant différents types de mesures gravimétriques et densifiant localement l'information dérivée de la gravimétrie spatiale. Pour ce faire, une approche de modélisation multi-échelles est notamment développée, utilisant des ondelettes définies en géométrie sphérique. Ce type d'approche s'avère en effet approprié pour combiner des données aux caractéristiques spatiales et spectrales variées. D'autre part, la prise en compte de mesures de gravimétrie mobile est d’un grand intérêt, car elle permet de couvrir les zones difficiles d'accès.

affiche