GRGS > The GRGS > Organization Charter

Bureau des longitudes Centre national d’études spatiales Institut national de l'information géographique et forestière - Laboratoire LAREG Observatoire de Paris Institut national des sciences de l'Univers Observatoire de la Côte d'Azur Service Hydrographique et Océanographique de la Marine Observatoire Midi-Pyrénées Université de la Polynésie Française Ecole Supérieure des Géomètres et Topographes - Conservatoire national des arts et métiers Ecole et Observatoire des Sciences de la Terre

1. Constitution

The Space Geodesy Research Group (GRGS) is a scientific consortium, without being a legal entity, and is formed by members who have signed a Memorandum of Agreement. It includes:

  • a Steering Committee
  • an Executive Director
  • a Board of Directors
  • a Scientific Council and its President
  • staff
    • -Research staff belonging to member agencies or other organizations (subject, in the latter case, to those people having obtained the consent of their employers),
    • -Technical and administrative staff belonging to member organizations.

These staff constitute the GRGS teams, each reporting to one of the member organizations.
In addition, a Scientific Assessment Panel is responsible for evaluating the activities of the GRGS.

2. Steering Committee

2.1. The Steering Committee is formed by the Presidents or Directors of member agencies of the GRGS, or their authorized representatives. It meets once a year, or at the request of one of its members or the Executive Director. The Steering Committee Chair rotates annually among the member agencies. The Executive Committee takes its decisions by simple majority.
2.2. The Executive Committee has authority over the consortium, it decides on its activities and decides which programs to consider or propose in response to calls for bids, investigates on the possible participation of member agencies in the GRGS and checks on the progress of projects. It names the Executive Director and appoints members of the Board of Directors and those of the Scientific Council of the GRGS, the Scientific Assessment Panel, and their Presidents.
2.3. The Steering Committee examines the applications for membership of any other French institution which presents the request. The Presidents themselves or the Directors of member agencies decide on admission and sign the addendum to the MoA on the GRGS.
2.4. A regular annual meeting of the Steering Committee initiates the four-year cycle in which the GRGS structures and their members function.

3. Executive Director

3.1. The Executive Director, chosen by the Steering Committee, is appointed for a four year term, renewable once.
3.2. He or she is responsible for implementing the decisions of the Steering Committee, of which he or she is the representative and, as such, s/he signs all correspondence on behalf of the Group and represents the GRGS with all scientific and French or international administrative authorities.
3.3. S/he is responsible for requesting member agencies to provide the research teams with the means that will enable them to carry out planned experiments, to which will be added the resources provided directly by the researchers’ home institution. This is done either within the framework of previous conventions signed GRGS, of which the Executive Director is the chief scientist, or by funds granted by the various organizations that are responsible for managing those funds.
3.4. S/he attendsex officiothe meetings of the Steering Committee of which s/he is Secretary, and the Scientific Council of the GRGS. In conjunction with the Chairperson of the Scientific Council, the Executive Director coordinates the preparation of the annual activity report and proposed research programs that s/he presents, after consulting the Scientific Council, to the Steering Committee. The Executive director also transmits the conclusions of the Scientific Assessment Panel to the Steering Committee.

4. Board of Directors

4.1. The Executive Director has a Board of Directors that meets to specify the practical implementation of the decisions of the Steering Committee.
4.2. The Board of Directors is composed of managers or senior researchers from GRGS teams, proposed by member agencies of the GRGS and appointed by the Steering Committee. The Chairperson of the Scientific Council of the GRGS is an ex officio member.
4.3. The Executive Director may propose the appointment of a Secretary to the Executive to the Steering Committee, in order to assist in the preparation and monitoring of funds as well as in implementing the agreements made on behalf of the GRGS and the transmission of documents to public institutions that are part of these conventions.

5. Chairperson of the Scientific Council of the GRGS

5.1. The Chairperson of the Scientific Council of GRGS is designated by the Steering Committee.
5.2. S/he is appointed for a term of four years, renewable once.
 S/he collaborates with the Executive Director on all matters relative to the scientific domaine. The President is also responsible for making decisions based on the opinions of the GRGS Scientific Council concerning ongoing projects and experiments. The President also organizes GRGS symposia, for which s/he proposes themes and a list of invited participants. S/he is an ex officio member of the Steering Committee, and must belong to a different member organization than that of the Executive Director.

6. Scientific Council of the GRGS

6.1. The Scientific Council of the GRGS is responsible for coordinating all the scientific activities of the GRGS. It consists of members appointed by the Steering Committee.
6.2. Composition of the Scientific Council: In addition to its Chairperson, the Executive Director is an ex officio member.Each member agency of the GRGS offers one or two representatives to the Scientific Council:

  • The head or leader of the team working with the GRGS,
  • And / or a scientist working at GRGS, chosen for his/her role or representativity.

In addition, the Scientific Council includes:

  • Representatives from the management of national agencies, organisations, or institutes guiding research who thus play an important role in the allocation of scientific resources to GRGS, such as CNES and INSU, limited to one per organisation.
    External members, appointed by the Steering Committee whose names were submitted by the Executive Director and the Chairperson of the Scientific Council, and who are chosen for their expertise in various fields of GRGS’ activities. Their number is three at most.

6.3. The term of office of members of the Scientific Council is four years, renewable once.
6.4. Under the rules defined above, the Steering Committee has the opportunity each year to change the membership of the Scientific Council as required, based on proposals from member organizations of the GRGS regarding team leaders and GRGS scientists, and proposals from national organizations about their representatives, and based on proposals from the Executive Director and the Chairperson of the Scientific Council with respect to the external members.
6.5. Occasionally, other people may be called upon as guests; similarly, some researchers may be given responsabilites for specific actions by the Scientific Council.
6.6. The Scientific Council shall meet at least once a year, before the Steering Committee meeting, at the behest of the President of the Scientific Council of the GRGS, and in agreement with the Executive Director. During this meeting, it reviews scientific research, experiments in progress, and new research proposals for consideration which will be presented to the Steering Committee after being ranked by the Executive Director. It may invite to its meetings project managers to present their proposals.
6.7. Scientific Meetings of the GRGS
 The Scientific Council of the GRGS can also organize scientific meetings to examine in greater detail the content of some experiments which are underway or are planned, in order to discuss the prospects and the scientific advances that may relate directly or indirectly to the GRGS.
The Scientific Council can also co-organize with other research groups, and particularly with those communities that use space geodesy, scientific meetings in order to regularly to analyze the interactions and interfaces between their activities.

7. Scientific Assessment Panel

7.1. The Scientific Assessment Panel is responsible for periodically reviewing the activities of the GRGS.

  • People exterior to the research teams, chosen for their potential contribution to the evaluation. They are appointed by the Steering Committee based on a proposal from the Executive Director after consultation with the Chairperson of the Scientific Council of the GRGS. Their number is five maximum.
  • Representatives of national evaluation bodies, currently the CNRS [French Research Institute], for the relevant sections. They are appointed by the Steering Committee based on a proposal by the National Committee of the CNRS at the rate of one person per section concerned.
  • Other organizations or national evaluation bodies may be represented on the Steering Committee's decision and under the same conditions.

7.3. The Chairperson of the Panel, chosen from among its members, is appointed by the Steering Committee based on a proposal from the Executive Director.
7.4. The term of office of members of the Scientific Assessment Panel shall be four years, renewable once.
7.5. Every four years, at the end of the Executive Director’s term, or at the request of the Steering Committee, the Scientific Assessment Panel shall meet in the presence and at the request of the President of the Scientific Council of the GRGS in order to prepare its recommendations. The Group's findings are forwarded to the Steering Committee in the form of an assessment report.

8. Financing and Administrative Management

8.1. Scientific projects and research proposals discussed by the Scientific Council of the GRGS are presented by the Executive Director to the Steering Committee, which decides which ones will be submitted to funding agencies.
8.2. The implementation of projects also requires resources from the GRGS member agencies.

  • By member agencies of the GRGS who want to participate, either by offering personnel, funds, or services--- all of which they decide on the amount and they directly manage. Bilateral or multilateral memoranda of agreements can be established on demand regarding this between the interested agencies.
  • By agreement made between any contractor and a public institution, who is a member of GRGS with an institutional legal status, and who will manage the accounting and administrative regulations in connection with its status and will make the corresponding funds available to the GRGS. The Executive Director is in charge of the scientific nature of these conventions.
  • By outside organizations that grant funds to the GRGS, of which they are responsible for the management of those funds.

8.4. Administrative documents relating to the conventions (or evidence of funds granted by external agencies) are approved by the Executive Director.

9. Status of Personnel

In this framework, the status of personnel involved in scientific programs of the GRGS remains the same as in their home organization. These personnel can not receive any bonus or compensation from the GRGS other than what they receive from within their organization. The rate of reimbursement for travel expenses are those of the organisation which administers the corresponding funds.

affiche

GRGS > Le GRGS > Charte d'organisation

Bureau des longitudes Centre national d’études spatiales Institut national de l'information géographique et forestière - Laboratoire LAREG Observatoire de Paris Institut national des sciences de l'Univers Observatoire de la Côte d'Azur Service Hydrographique et Océanographique de la Marine Observatoire Midi-Pyrénées Université de la Polynésie Française Ecole Supérieure des Géomètres et Topographes - Conservatoire national des arts et métiers Ecole et Observatoire des Sciences de la Terre

1. Constitution

Le Groupe de Recherche de Géodésie Spatiale (GRGS) est un groupement scientifique, sans personnalité morale, constitué par des organismes membres qui ont signé un Protocole d'accord ; il comprend :

  • un Comité Directeur
  • un Directeur Exécutif
  • un Bureau Exécutif
  • un Conseil Scientifique et son Président
  • des personnels :
    - de recherche appartenant aux organismes membres ou à d'autres organismes (sous réserve, dans ce dernier cas, que les personnes aient recueilli l'accord de leurs employeurs),
    - technique et administratif relevant des organismes membres.

Ces personnels constituent les équipes du GRGS, chacune relevant d'un des organismes membres.
En outre, un Groupe d'Evaluation Scientifique est chargé d'évaluer les activités du GRGS.

2. Comité Directeur

2.1. Le Comité Directeur est constitué par les Présidents ou les Directeurs des organismes membres du GRGS, ou leurs représentants mandatés. Il se réunit une fois par an, ou à la demande d'un de ses membres ou du Directeur Exécutif. La présidence du Comité Directeur tourne annuellement parmi les organismes membres. Le Comité Directeur prend ses décisions à la majorité simple.

2.2. Le Comité Directeur détient l'autorité sur le Groupe, il statue sur ses activités et décide des programmes à envisager ou à proposer en réponse aux appels d'offre, s'enquiert de la participation possible des organismes membres du GRGS et se fait rendre compte de l'état d'avancement des projets ; il désigne le Directeur Exécutif, et nomme les membres du Bureau Exécutif, ainsi que ceux du Conseil Scientifique du GRGS, du Groupe d'Evaluation Scientifique et leurs Présidents.
2.3. Le Comité Directeur étudie l'adhésion de tout autre organisme français qui en présenterait la demande. Les Présidents eux-mêmes ou Directeurs des organismes membres prononcent l'admission et signent l'avenant au Protocole d'accord sur le GRGS.
2.4. Une réunion annuelle ordinaire du Comité Directeur initialise le cycle de quatre ans sur lequel fonctionnent les structures du GRGS et leurs membres.

3. Directeur Exécutif

3.1. Le Directeur Exécutif, désigné par le Comité Directeur, est nommé pour une période de quatre ans, reconductible une fois.
3.2. Il est chargé de l'exécution des décisions du Comité Directeur dont il est le mandant ; à ce titre, il signe toute la correspondance faite au nom du Groupe, et représente le GRGS auprès de toutes les autorités scientifiques ou administratives françaises ou internationales.
3.3. Il est chargé de demander aux organismes membres de fournir aux équipes les moyens qui, ajoutés à ceux fournis directement par leur organisme de rattachement, leur permettront d'exécuter les expériences projetées ; cela dans le cadre des Conventions passées au nom du GRGS, dont il est le responsable scientifique, ou de crédits accordés par des organismes qui en assurent la gestion.
3.4. Il assiste de droit aux réunions du Comité Directeur dont il est le Secrétaire, et du Conseil Scientifique du GRGS. En liaison avec le Président de ce Conseil Scientifique, il coordonne l'élaboration du rapport d'activité annuel et les propositions de programmes de recherches qu'il présente, après avis du Conseil Scientifique, au Comité Directeur. Il transmet à celui-ci les conclusions du Groupe d'Evaluation Scientifique.

4. Bureau Exécutif

4.1. Le Directeur Exécutif dispose d'un Bureau Exécutif qu'il réunit pour préciser la mise en oeuvre matérielle des décisions du Comité Directeur.
4.2. Le Bureau Exécutif est formé des responsables ou chercheurs confirmés des équipes du GRGS, proposés par les organismes membres du GRGS et nommés par le Comité Directeur ; le Président du Conseil Scientifique du GRGS en est membre de droit.
4.3. Le Directeur Exécutif peut proposer au Comité Directeur la nomination d'un Secrétaire du Bureau Exécutif pour l'assister dans la préparation et le suivi des crédits ainsi que dans l'exécution des conventions passées au nom du GRGS et la transmission des pèces aux organismes publics titulaires de ces conventions.

5. Président du Conseil Scientifique du GRGS

5.1. Le Président du Conseil Scientifique du GRGS est désigné par le Comité Directeur.
5.2. Il est nommé pour une durée de quatre ans, reconductible une fois.
5.3. Il collabore avec le Directeur Exécutif pour toutes les questions relevant du plan scientifique, il est chargé de porter les conclusions sur les avis du Conseil Scientifique du GRGS concernant les projets et les expériences en cours ; il organise les colloques du GRGS pour lesquels il propose les thèmes et la liste des participants invités. Il sège de droit au Comité Directeur. Il doit appartenir à un organisme diffèrent de celui du Directeur Exécutif.

6. Conseil Scientifique du GRGS

6.1. Le Conseil Scientifique du GRGS est chargé de coordonner l'ensemble des activités scientifiques du GRGS. Il est constitué de membres nommés par le Comité Directeur.
6.2. Composition du Conseil Scientifique :
 Outre son Président, le Directeur Exécutif en est membre de droit.
 Chaque organisme membre du GRGS propose un ou deux représentants au Conseil Scientifique :

  •  - le responsable ou animateur de l'équipe collaborant au GRGS,
  •  - et/ou un scientifique collaborant au GRGS, choisi pour son rôle ou sa représentativité.

 De plus le Conseil Scientifique comprend :

  • - des représentants de la direction d'organismes nationaux, agence ou institut de pilotage de la recherche jouant un rôle important dans l'attribution de moyens scientifiques au GRGS, tels que le CNES et l'INSU, à raison d'un par organisme,
  • - des membres extérieurs, nommés par le Comité Directeur sur proposition du Directeur Exécutif et du Président du Conseil Scientifique, et choisis pour leur expertise dans divers domaines d'activités du GRGS. Leur nombre est de trois au maximum.

6.3. Le mandat des membres du Conseil Scientifique est de quatre ans, renouvelable une fois.
6.4. Dans le cadre des règles définies plus haut, le Comité Directeur a la possibilité chaque année de modifier la liste des membres du Conseil Scientifique en fonction des besoins, sur proposition des organismes membres du GRGS en ce qui concerne les responsables des équipes et les scientifiques du GRGS, et des organismes nationaux au sujet de leurs représentants, et sur proposition du Directeur Exécutif et du Président du Conseil Scientifique en ce qui concerne les membres extérieurs.
6.5. Il peut être fait appel ponctuellement à d'autres personnes à titre d'invités ; de même certains chercheurs peuvent être chargés d'actions spécifiques par le Conseil Scientifique.
6.6. Le Conseil Scientifique se réunit au moins une fois par an, avant la réunion du Comité Directeur, à la diligence du Président du Conseil Scientifique du GRGS, en accord avec le Directeur Exécutif. Il procède à l'examen scientifique des travaux, des expériences en cours, et des nouvelles propositions de recherche à envisager qui seront présentées après classement au Comité Directeur par le Directeur Exécutif. Il peut inviter à ses réunions des responsables de projets pour la présentation de ceux-ci.
6.7. Réunions scientifiques du GRGS
Le Conseil Scientifique du GRGS peut en outre organiser des réunions scientifiques permettant d'approfondir le contenu de certaines expériences en cours ou projetées, de discuter de la prospective et des avancées scientifiques pouvant concerner directement ou indirectement le GRGS.
Le Conseil Scientifique peut aussi co-organiser, avec d'autres groupes de recherche et en particulier avec ceux des communautés utilisatrices de la géodésie spatiale, des rencontres scientifiques permettant régulièrement d'analyser les interactions et interfaces entre leurs activités.

7. Groupe d'Évaluation Scientifique

7.1. Le Groupe d'Évaluation Scientifique est chargé de l'examen périodique des activités du GRGS.
7.2. Le Groupe d'Évaluation Scientifique comprend :

  • - des personnalités n'appartenant pas aux équipes de recherches, choisies à titre personnel pour leur apport potentiel à l'évaluation. Elles sont nommées par le Comité Directeur sur proposition du Directeur Exécutif après consultation du Président du Conseil Scientifique du GRGS ; leur nombre est de cinq au maximum.
  • - des représentants d'instances nationales d'évaluation, actuellement du Comité National de la Recherche Scientifique, pour les sections concernées. Ils sont nommés par le Comité Directeur sur proposition du Comité national du CNRS à raison d'un par section concernée.
  • - D'autres organismes ou instances nationales d'évaluation pourront être représentés sur décision du Comité Directeur et dans les mêmes conditions.

7.3. Le Président du Groupe, choisi parmi ses membres, est nommé par le Comité Directeur sur proposition du Directeur Exécutif.
7.4. Le mandat des membres du Groupe d'Évaluation Scientifique est de quatre ans, renouvelable une fois.
7.5. Tous les quatre ans à la fin du mandat du Directeur Exécutif, ou à la demande du Comité Directeur, le Groupe d'Évaluation Scientifique se réunit en présence et à la diligence du Président du Conseil Scientifique du GRGS pour préparer son avis. Les conclusions du Groupe sont transmises au Comité Directeur sous la forme d'un rapport d'évaluation.

8. Financement et gestion administrative

8.1. Les projets scientifiques et propositions de recherche discutés au Conseil Scientifique du GRGS sont présentés par le Directeur Exécutif au Comité Directeur qui décide de celles qui sont soumises aux organismes qui les financeront.
8.2. La mise en œuvre des projets fait aussi appel aux moyens d'exécution des organismes membres du GRGS.
8.3. Les activités du GRGS sont ainsi financées :

  •  - par les organismes membres du GRGS qui veulent y participer, en personnel, crédits, ou prestations de service, dont ils décident le volume et qu'ils gèrent directement ; des protocoles d'accord bilatéraux ou multilatéraux peuvent à la demande être établis à ce sujet entre les organismes intéressés.
  •  - par convention passée par tout contractant avec un établissement public, membre du GRGS, ayant la personnalité morale, qui en assurera la gestion comptable et administrative réglementaire dans le cadre de son statut et mettra les crédits correspondants à la disposition du GRGS. Le Directeur Exécutif est le responsable scientifique de ces conventions.
  •  - par des organismes extérieurs qui accordent des crédits au GRGS, dont ils assurent eux-mêmes la gestion.

8.4. Les pièces administratives relatives aux conventions (ou justificatives des crédits accordés par des organismes extérieurs) sont visées par le Directeur Exécutif.

9. Statut des personnels

Dans ce cadre, le statut des personnels participant aux programmes scientifiques du GRGS reste celui qui est le leur dans leur organisme de tutelle ; ces personnels ne peuvent recevoir du GRGS aucune prime ou indemnité autres que celles dont ils bénéficient au sein de leur organisme. Les taux de frais de mission sont ceux de l'organisme administrateur des crédits correspondants.

affiche